# REPORT OF 12<sup>TH</sup> WORLD CUP BICYCLE POLO CHAMPIONSHIP 2019

# INTRODUCTIO N

The game of bicycle polo was conceived in 1891 and is a direct descendant of the very ancient game of horse polo which dates back to 600 BC, one of the world's fastest growing urban sports.

111 years earlier, bike polo pedalled into the 1908 London Olympics as an exhibition sport.

Out of 12 World Cup Bicycle Polo Championships India participated in 8 and won 6 Gold and 2 Bronze Medals.

Indian team self financed and went to USA, UK, Canada and France.

1. 12<sup>th</sup> World Cup Bicycle Polo Championship 2019 was organised by International Bicycle Polo Federation at Buenos Aires, Argentina from

10<sup>th</sup> to 15<sup>th</sup> December 2019 at Argentina Polo Club. World Cup for Bicycle Polo Championship takes place every four years. Selection of Indian Bicycle Polo Team for the said championship was carried out by selecting the best players on the basis of their performance at the Senior (Men) National Championship and Federation Cup 2018-19. A coaching



camp of 12 players was conducted at Delhi for a period of 15 days for training and selection of final 8 Players. The best 8 players further participated in the 12<sup>th</sup> World Cup Bicycle Polo Championship 2019 which was held at Buenos Aires, Argentina from 10<sup>th</sup> to 15<sup>th</sup> December 2019. Official draw for the matches was held on 10 Dec 19 at 1000 hrs at Association Argentina De Polo club.

#### **CEREMONIES**

- 2. **Opening Ceremony**. The Opening Ceremony was held at Argentina Polo Club on **10 Dec 19** at **1500 hrs**. The Championship was inaugurated by **Mr. Eduardo Novillo Astarda President Association Argentina de Polo. Mr. Alain Derly Secretary General of International Bicycle Polo Federation** was also present. The opening match was played between **India** and **France** in which **India** defeated **France** team by **11-6**.
- 3. <u>Closing Ceremony.</u> His Excellency Shri Dinesh Bhatia, Ambassador of India & Mr. Eduardo Novillo Astarda President of Association Argentina de Polo graced the occasion as 'Chief Guests' during the Closing Ceremony, organized by International Bicycle Polo Federation at Argentina Polo Club on 15 Dec 19. Mr. Alain Derly Secretary General of International Bicycle Polo Federation was also present. The

Final match was played between  ${f India}$  and  ${f America}$  .  ${f India}$  won the Championship by 12-3.

## **INDIAN TEAM**

4. The Indian Team selected to participate in the **12<sup>th</sup> World Cup Bicycle Polo Championship 2019** are as follows:

# **Players**

- (i) Assarudeen Sha (Captain)
- (ii) Sadham HVP
- (iii) Anshad A
- (iv) Anfar J
- (v) Piyush Sinha
- (vi) Vishnu Shaji
- (vii) Sonu Kairi
- (viii) Aditya



Coach : Dileep A Manager : S Mishra

Chef De Mission: Group Captain Deepak Ahluwalia



## **TEAMS PARTICIPATED**

5. A total of 12 teams participated in the **12<sup>th</sup> World Cup Bicycle Polo Championship 2019** and were divided into two groups A and B. Indian Team

was placed in Group A.



## **LEAGUE MATCHES**

6. Indian team played five league matches and won all the matches with huge difference of goals to qualify for the Quarter Finals. The results are as follows:



## **QUARTER FINAL MATCHES**

7. The Quarter Final matches were played among the Eight qualified teams, the **Indian** team defeated **Canada** by **8-3** goals to qualify for the Semi Finals. The result of the Quarter final are as follows:



#### **SEMI FINAL MATCHES**

8. England, America, Argentina and India qualified for the Semi Finals. In which **America and India** defeated **Argentina and England** respectively to qualify for the final match of the 12<sup>th</sup> World Cup Cycle Polo Championship 2019, results are as follows:

India (15)	Vs	England (8)
America (9)	Vs	Argentina (6)



## **FINAL MATCH**

The final match of the 12<sup>th</sup> World Cup Cycle Polo Championship 2019 was



played between India and America where India defeated America by 12-3 goals and Indian Team was declared the Champion Team for the 12<sup>th</sup> World Cup Bicycle Polo Championship 2019. Assarudeen Sha of India was declared as Best Player and Anfar J was the Top scorer of

the Championship.

## **SPONSORSHIPS**

9. **TYKA** have been the esteemed sponsor and provided the playing kit and **Benetton** sponsored the formal clothing for the Indian Team for the **12**<sup>th</sup> **World Cup Bicycle Polo Championship 2019**.

#### FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

10. The contingent of the Indian Bicycle Polo team was self-financed. No grants or financial assistance was received from Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs, Indian Olympic Association or any other agency.

#### INDIAN EMBASSY AT ARGENTINA

11. His Excellency Shri Dinesh Bhatia, Ambassador invited the Indian Contingent for tea to his office. He along with the members of the Indian Embassy witnessed the Final Match of the championship. His Excellency thereafter invited the winning Indian Team to his residence for dinner.